Tags

, , , , ,

This is more like a dream-come-true for me and I’ve been at it for a while, thinking and wanting to do what the others have been doing for some time now.

My friends, in the past months, have been inviting me to get on a life of adventure in the mountains with them.

At that time, it was just impossible. Aside from work and family, I have entered a student’s life, as I have been into my German language studies again. Well, it was only for 3 months and when it ended, I have decided it’s high time to train the body. (Remember my New Year’s resolution?)

For what good is a brain, when the body is … weak? LOL. That’s just a passing thought. Of course, we can do anything and everything when we never give up.

And so, for the last 4 weeks I have started with Aerobics and Strength training, strengthening my body and increasing endurance for physical activity. I use FREELETICS. It’s a free workout, without having to rely on gym equipments. And it is what I really like, because then, I can do it anytime and anywhere.

So yeah, I have started 4 weeks ago.

And I thought to try and check myself by joining my friends, trekking and spelunking, on the last day of May. I let my Kids join, too! I know that it’s the kind of adventure that they would go for.

We started out very early in the morning, as we had to travel 30km from the city. Our starting point was at the middle of 2 of our destinations, and started off at 8:30 in the morning. We went by 2’s on motorcycles, to the main path going to Balao cave. We got there and geared up, and walked for a good 20-30 minutes.

We had to go through a narrow, muddy path (since it rained the night before)

We had to go through a narrow, muddy path (since it rained the night before)

along farms ...

along farms …

and through some forest!

and through some forest!

At the very sight of all the untouched nature, my heart leaped and sang! I want to cry with an indescribable Joy I felt within. I’ve wanted to SING to the mountains!

“It’s AWESOME“, I roared when we finally got to the mouth of the cave!

DSC_0037You would need to crouch here, to enter the cave, which I didn’t mind doing. This was not my first cave visit. The first one was so much bigger than this one, and you just walk right in, like it’s a house. Inside, is like a Cathedral though.

the descent into Balao Cave

the descent into Balao Cave

rock and crystal formations inside the cave

rock and crystal formations inside the cave

my young spelunkers!

my young spelunkers!

Balao Cave is my daughter’s first cave and I am glad she was not afraid to get in, even when it was so dark inside.

I could not remember how long we stayed inside this cave. I was in awe of what I saw. It’s beautiful! It’s just sad that we saw some writings on its walls and a few broken crystals/stalagmites, probably made by the others who’ve been there.

The hike back (to the small road) was easy, at least. But from that part of the road going back to where we first started, it was a good 45-min walk. It was a long, winding road … going uphill, then down… and my shoes were killing me. I went crazy! We made a few stops, to rest and buy some water, as we’ve consumed all 2 liters of what we brought. Then in the last stretch of our hike, I couldn’t take the pain, I hailed a motorbike-for-hire. And then I realized, we were just around 10 minutes away.😀 But it’s done, I cheated on that hike. Damn shoes, they were an old pair that I haven’t used for a very long time.

Pity my shoes!

Pity my shoes!

After lunch and a half hour of rest, we headed for our second cave. They have called it the Golden Cave before, because of the golden appearance inside it. But we were told that it’s now called Misal, from the owner of the land where the cave is located.

the way to the 2nd cave was more forest-looking, with lots of thorny (rattan) plants

the way to the 2nd cave was more forest-looking, with lots of thorny (rattan) plants

it's a more difficult path than the one to the 1st cave

it’s a more difficult path than the one to the 1st cave

yet still, we made it!

yet still, we made it!

Misal Cave's narrow opening. This is how you enter it, legs first!

Misal Cave’s narrow opening. This is how you enter it, feet first!

Me, the Kids and the rest of the group, with our guide

Me, the Kids and the rest of the group, with our guide

the "doorway"

the “doorway”

on our way of the (2nd cave) mountain

on our way out from the 2nd (cave) mountain

Honestly, at this point when we were coming out of this mountain, I told myself that this is going to be the last time. I was so exhausted, all I wanted to do was to roll and roll, and sleep.

We were supposed to go to a third cave, the Dos Andanas, but I opted out. The rest of the group continued on, while me and the Kids changed and got ready to go back to the city. We grabbed some food on the way, got home and went straight to bed.

The next day, I woke up early and pondered on the happenings of the previous day. That’s when I realized I need to train harder, be fit so I will last in this kind of activity (and get a more comfortable pair of shoes too!). The Kids were okay, of course I asked them! And they want more of this. Me too!

It’s an indescribable feeling, a kind of high that you get when you go out and be one with nature. And I definitely want to finish that song I’ve heard from the mountains… The song that tells you who you are, where you’ve been, and that Everything in Life is awesome!